Um, No

June 22, 2012

I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this yet or not. My fertility clinic has a weird definition of a day. If your period starts after four in the afternoon, then it actually started the following day. And it hasn’t started if you just spot some on that first day. As far as I’m concerned, as soon as I need to put on a pad, my period has started. But not them. You call with the first day of your period, and they ask if it’s full flow or not. <rolls eyes>

Anyway…

First “day” of my period today. (I’d tell you it was really yesterday, but again, they have weird math.) I called to find out what day to go in for my ultrasound, and the receptionist said she’d have one of the nurses call me back. By the time she did, I was meandering through one of the other neighborhoods near work, hoping to see a new flat that looked big enough and not too studenty (kind of hard in the summer when most of the WMU students are out of town). Talk about a weird conversation to have on your headphones!

After the usual greetings and salutations, the nurse went on to say, “I see that you’re supposed to come in on Monday for an FSH consult.”

If I remember correctly, I stopped walking when she said that. At my last appointment, I quite clearly told the doctor that I do not consider FSH to be a treatment option. He clearly replied that if I wanted to wait, that’s what we would do. And clearly, he never put that conversation in my chart.

“No,” I said, “I said I wanted to give it a few months before trying anything as drastic as that.”

She was very friendly about it. Sure, no problem, let’s just figure out when you’ll come in for an ultrasound. No pressure at all.

But still. Shouldn’t that have been in my chart? Did the doctor think I’d forget? What part of needle phobia does he not understand? ‘Cause, trust me, if it involves needles, I’m not going to forget!

And, oh goody… Next ultrasound? July 3. This might make for an interesting Independence Day with the family…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Um, No

  1. Ursula

    Beth! I just linked to your blog from your Facebook and want to wish you good luck with your baby dreams. I have wonderful memories of us hanging out and discussing Les Miz, Shakespeare, and all kinds of other things in Scott Friesner’s ATYP class. I am now married, an English professor at a tiny Ohio college, and mom to a 15-month-old boy. Having a baby has been the most amazing and hardest thing I have ever done, but the process of getting pregnant was so stressful. In the grand scheme of things, it didn’t take that long, but at the time it felt like forever. Hang in there, and good luck! I’m sending good vibes your way.

Leave a Reply

