I’m Missing Ice Cream for This

July 3, 2012

Based on the calendar, I really should have had an ultrasound tomorrow. But since tomorrow is the Fourth of July, I had my choice. I could do it a day early or a day late. I thought it seemed like a good idea to go for a day early. Don’t want to miss anything. If I’d been looking at my brains (planner to those of you not versed in Bannerspeak), I might have opted for a day late. Today was our annual ice cream social at work. And by “ice cream social”, I mean the day that work has Cold Stone Creamery come in, and I get ice cream for lunch, but I slip in and out and eat my ice cream in the quiet of my office and skip the “social” part. Most of the women in my corner of the hallway do the same. We make it social, sort of. We all go down and get our ice cream together and then walk back upstairs nibbling our ice cream together before returning to our respective offices. I think I work with a lot of introverts…

So anyway, back to the ultrasound.

First, I have to begin with the are-you-effing-kidding-me part of the story. Doctor comes in to do the ultrasound, skimming my chart. “I see we have you on FSH,” he says.

That’s right. He never updated my chart after our conversation about not trying that until we try to get pregnant without it. The nurse never updated my chart after I spoke with her and said I do not consider FSH to be an option. And yet, my chart still says that I’m on FSH. And I’m supposed to trust these people!

“No,” I say as calmly as possible, “we decided to wait for a few months.”

“Okay.” He doesn’t seem to see the problem with my medical record not being accurate.

Shrug it off. It will be fine.

And it looks good. Houston, we have a follicle, and not the same one we saw in May/June! It still needs to grow for a few days. I’m to continue OPKs (ovulation prediction kits) and return for the next cattle call on Friday. (I really should teach them about theatre language… My mother and I are the only people in the office calling them cattle calls.) Fingers crossed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

