There’s Got to Be a Better Way

July 9, 2012

I’m done. This doctor… I don’t even know where to begin.

Then, again, I guess I do. I should begin with last Friday. The follicle continues to grow, but he wants to let it grow some more. So I got to go back today for a third ultrasound.

And today? Today was beautiful. My temperature spiked. I had a positive OPK. And I had this magnificent eggwhite cervical mucus. (What, TMI?) Let’s do this.

And what does he say? The follicle looks good, but he thinks I’ve had an “ovulatory event”. So I’m to have a blood test to check my progesterone level and then schedule a consultation to discuss my options. Oh, I’ll schedule a consultation, but not with him. He doesn’t want to hear anything I have to say. He’s made that quite clear.

Yes, I’m still pretty upset about the fact that my chart was never updated to indicate that I’m not on FSH. It’s quite obvious that this doctor is rather old-school, from the era of doctor-knows-best-and-no-need-to-worry-your-pretty-little-head-with-things-like-thinking.

I do have to give credit where credit is due. The man himself called with the results of my blood work. I’m thinking they could really use an EMR. (Sorry, I keep forgetting I’m not talking to colleagues. That’s an electronic medical record.)

Since I took the day off, my mom and I decided to get started on sorting, cleaning, and packing. My dad came over around lunchtime to bring more boxes, and the three of us went to Jimmy John’s for lunch. I conveniently, and I swear it was completely accidental, left my phone at home. This was convenient because it meant the doctor had to leave a voice mail. But it was a very clear message, so I felt no need to return the call. About an hour after lunch, as my mom and I were still working, I heard my phone ring, saw that the caller ID was a Grand Rapids number, and let it go to voice mail. It was one of the nurses calling from the doctor’s office (they never say which one, so it’s a good thing I only see one doctor with a 616 area code) and to please call back. I was, understandably I think, perplexed, so I called back. The nurse, naturally, was not available, so I left a message that if she’d called about my test results, the doctor had already called, so if she had nothing to add, no return call was necessary. Of course, this meant that an hour after that, the doctor called me back and said, “I understand you had some questions.”

“No,” I said, “my only question was whether the nurse had something to add. Your original message was perfectly clear to me.”

“Okay.”

Yeah. I just wonder if they had an EMR there would have been a clear notation that the doctor had already called with my blood results, so the nurse wouldn’t have called, etc. Because, honestly, I don’t want to talk to any of them. Like I said, I’m done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

