This is the Way to Move

August 28, 2012

I’m still on “vacation”. Maybe I should really call it “move-cation”. It’s like a “staycation” only you move. As you know, I took a couple of days off last week to move boxes in advance of my crew (again, Drew, Josh, Andy, Uncle Phil, Daddy, Issa, Ryan, you rock!) coming to move my furniture. I also took Monday and Tuesday of this week off to recover. Yesterday, Daddy and I went to Lowe’s (thanks for the coupon, USPS!) to buy shelves for my pantry and the bedroom closets. We also bought those sticky strips that you can use to hang artwork. You know, the ones that you pull the tab on the bottom and then they remove cleanly from the wall so you don’t have to deal with nail holes. This means I’m starting to get some of my artwork hung. The new place is starting to look like my place. I’ve got my painting hung, the one that reminds me of when my friends and I took the weekend trip to Milan. (We were living in Rome, so it wasn’t an unreasonable weekend trip.) There’s still a lot to unpack, but it’s becoming livable.

And today, I’m playing with my Mommy. Hair appointments at noon! Yalanda was relieved to learn that I wasn’t moving into her building after all. Not because she wasn’t looking forward to that. We both were excited at the thought of just having to run up/downstairs to see each other. No, she was relieved because she couldn’t figure out why I was parking so far away from the building. We’re going to have to do better. We live in the same complex. We should see each other more frequently than at her shop.

Tomorrow, I guess I have to go back to work. I’m not really looking forward to it. I’m definitely in need of a proper vacation!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

