This Post is Me Whining about Work

October 23, 2012

I thought I should put that out there, just in case you’re only reading this blog because you want to know what’s up on the baby front. This post is not about babies or pregnancy. This post is about social media. More specifically, this post is about a webinar entitled Social Media and the CME Professional.

This is something I’m interested in. As part of our accreditation, we’re encouraged to use multiple platforms to reach our learners. We’re asked what sorts of “non-educational strategies” we use. This could be posters in the hallway or my personal favorite example of having each patient wear a sticker that says “Did you wash your hands?” (In case you’re wondering, studies show better compliance with handwashing regulations in hospitals where patients wear these stickers.) But it seems to me that social media platforms could also be useful as non-educational CME strategies. I just have no clue how to get my attendees to participate. So when the invite to this free webinar came through my inbox, I was excited. The description sounded like exactly what I was looking for.

Yeah. Not so much. This is now at least the second webinar I have sat through that tells me which social networks CME professionals should join. You know, to communicate with other CME professionals. Nothing about using it to do my job. Nothing about using it as an additional way to reach my attendees. Nope. It was all about me and other CME coordinators. Whoop-dee-doo. At least it was free because it would have been an absolute waste of money at any other price.

And now for something completely different:

To all my fellow science (particularly chemistry) nerds: Happy Mole Day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

