Fall Lunch Spectacular!; or, Courtney is Still Pregnant

October 25, 2012

One of the things I love about Gilbert and Sullivan is the subtitles. The Pirates of Penzance; or, The Slave of Duty. The Mikado; or, The Town of Titipu. H.M.S. Pinafore; or, The Lass that Loved a Sailor. The Gondoliers; or, The King of Barataria. Thespis; or, The Gods Grown Old. The Yeomen of the Guard; or, The Merry Man and His Maid. Or, my personal favorite, Ruddigore; or, The Witch’s Curse. (Okay, it’s not really my favorite subtitle, but it’s my favorite of their operettas. It has the most Gilbert and Sullivan of Gilbert and Sullivan plot resolutions. The witch’s curse is that this line of barons must do something bad every day or else they’ll die. In order to get out of this, the last one commits suicide but comes back as a ghost. The resolution? Suicide is a bad thing, so by committing suicide he did a bad thing which meant he didn’t succumb to the curse, so he can’t be dead after all. Confused yet? And it’s got fabulous music and a wonderful book. And I swear I was born to play Mad Meg. Every now and then, I like to say “Basingstoke it is, dear” just to see if anyone gets the reference. Can’t say anyone ever has. Basingstoke it is.) This just seemed like a blog post that called for such a subtitle.

Dr Z decided we needed to have a fall lunch party. With soup! At the time this seemed like a great idea because it was 30 degrees outside. Yeah. It was around 70 today. On the calendar, it was officially a “CME Department Update” because we can’t reserve meeting rooms for social events. I personally have been calling it a Fall Lunch Spectacular! (The capitalization and exclamation point being part of the name, of course.) One of the reasons to do it this week is that Courtney is still pregnant and she’s quite ready to not be pregnant anymore. Her due date isn’t until Halloween, but she’s at that stage where you think you can’t get any bigger and then you do. Personally, I think she looks exactly the right amount of pregnant. She’s wants to hold on through tomorrow, though, so that she doesn’t have to use any PTO this pay period. I told her that was good. She needed to stay pregnant until I got pregnant. (I did have to explain to her that I have an ultrasound tomorrow.)

It was our usual sort of lunch with Dr Z. No one else needs to talk much. He’s a storyteller, and once you get him going… My favorite is still about the time he hitched a ride home from college only to discover that his parents had moved. Without telling him. Or leaving a forwarding address. Fortunately it was a small enough town that the neighbors knew where they’d moved to.

And I ended the day with a massage. Mary had a funeral today, but she said she’d be happy to see me when it was over. I’m trying to decide what to knit for her. I know she doesn’t want payment, that this is her gift to me, but I need to do something for her. I’m thinking something with lace. Maybe a stole. I’m still not sure, but I’ll figure it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

