Looking for Catharsis? Have I got a Recommendation for You!

October 29, 2012

When I started this whole thing nearly a year ago, I looked at a variety of websites where I could track my period. I settled on mymonthlycycles.com. I could use it to track my period as well as various fertility symptoms. It has some pretty good graphing options. And you can set it to send you reminders based on your past cycles. You can even keep track of your supply of pads and tampons and get reminders that you need to buy more. I’m not doing that, but it’s a clever idea. Probably would have been really useful in college before I was on the Pill. Oh, and it’s free. That’s a big reason I chose this site over some of the others I looked at.

This website is as much a fertility site as a place to track your period. If you’re looking for a good cry, I recommend visiting the mymonthlycycles wishing wells. I made my first wish on Friday, that we wouldn’t miss this cycle. And I made my second wish on Saturday, that the insemination works and I get pregnant. The Trying To Conceive Wishing Well is full of things like this. Please, God, please let me get pregnant. I want to be a mum! I’m starting my first IVF cycle tomorrow. I’ve been trying for two years.

Need I go on? The entire wish doesn’t necessarily appear as you see it in the well, but if you click on it, then you can read the whole thing. And once there, you can add your support. Good luck, I’m praying for you, I’m hoping for you. It’s both a beautiful and a heart-wrenching page. All of these women just putting their hopes out into the ether. Studies have shown that journaling can allay fears. (Suffer from test anxiety? Journal about why you’re nervous before you go to take your next test, and you’ll be less likely to choke.) I’m not sure if other women are putting wishes in the well for the encouragement or if they’re doing it for the same reason I did. It’s an anonymous place where I can share exactly where I am in my journey with women who know exactly how I feel. I don’t want to publicly live this with the world just yet, but it feels good to know I’m not alone. I confess that I did cry when I saw that people had indeed offered their support to my wishes. I confess that I was a little surprised. I don’t know why I was. I’ve done the same for other women who’ve posted their wishes in the well.

And in case you’re wondering, there are other wishing wells, too. There’s more than just the trying to conceive one. But, of course, that’s where I am right now, so that’s the well I’ve been focused on. You don’t have to be a member to scroll through the wishing wells. If you’re feeling the need for a little bit of heartbreak and a whole lot of hope, check it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

