A Little More Detail

January 8, 2013

I realized I should probably go into a little more detail. My last post was rather literary…

So, yes, I had a blood draw on the 2nd. And then I nervously waited for hours for the phone to ring. Carla was the nurse who got to call and give me the good news.

“How are you?” she asked.

“Nervous,” I replied.

“Well, it’s positive.”

“Oh, thank god!”

She laughed and asked if I’d been feeling symptoms. I told her I couldn’t remember my breasts ever being quite as tender as they have been. I asked what was next, and she said I should stop taking the progesterone and that I’d have another blood draw on Tuesday (AKA today). She rattled off what my hormone levels were, but honestly, I was still processing the fact that I’m finally pregnant so I have no clue what she said (not that I would have known what it meant without looking up what a good range was anyway).

And I was going to write about this yesterday, and the day before that, and the day before that. In fact, I’ve been planning on writing this since, oh, last Thursday. I am exhausted. Come about 5:30/6:00, I crash. It’s felt like too much work. My mom suspected the test would be positive because I was so tired at the end of our big family Christmas. She said that she knew she was pregnant with me when she realized that the last time she’d been so exhausted was when she was pregnant with my brother. It’s starting to get better, but I’m still pretty beat.

Oh, and in fun knitting news, I’ve finished two of the Pleiades shawls and have started the third. I’m a woman possessed. Fortunately, yarn to knit myself a much-needed new sweater is due to arrive on Friday. I’ll have to set aside the fun little shawls until I’m sitting in workshops for three days at the end of the month. But that’s okay. I think the sweater will be a reasonably fun knit, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

