If Only…

January 16, 2013

Long before I began this journey, I knew that morning sickness was a misnomer. I knew that some women experience “morning” sickness at other times of the day. If only I weren’t one of them. Ugh. I feel sick when my alarm goes off at 5:45 in the morning. I feel sick when Morning Edition ends at 9. I feel sick when I head home from work at 3:30. I feel sick when I’d rather be eating dinner at 6:30. I feel sick when I go to bed (which these days is anywhere between 7:30 and 9 – I still get exhausted pretty easily on week days). I feel sick when I wake up at 2 because I have to go to the bathroom. Pretty much the only time I don’t feel sick is around noon, when I’m suddenly starving and ready for lunch. (Not to be confused with dinner time when I’m simultaneously starving and nauseated. That’s always a fun combination.)

I suppose the good news is that, for the most part, I’m just nauseated, not suffering “nausea and vomiting”. (Except for a couple of times. I was hoping I’d feel better after, but the reprieve was short-lived.) I’m really glad that I have an appointment on Monday. I’m hoping they’ll have a good suggestion for something I can take when I fly the following week; otherwise, it’s going to be a long 50-minute flight to Chicago and a veeeeeeerrrrry long flight from there to San Francisco.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

