1983

February 9, 2013

Yes, there is a big gap between my last post and this one. My motherboard died. Fortunately, it could be replace, which was a lot cheaper than replacing the whole computer. But because it died just before I was due to fly off to San Francisco for work, I wound up being computer-less for two weeks. Two weeks! Okay, I do have a smart phone, but I wasn’t going to try writing blog posts on that little keyboard. Do you know the last time I lived this long without a computer in my home? That’s right. 1983. It’s been thirty years. I was five. I’m about as close to a digital native as someone my age can be. And I didn’t have a computer. For two weeks. It wasn’t even so much that I had limited internet access; that was going to happen while I was in San Francisco anyway. (You know how it goes. The more expensive the hotel, the fewer the free amenities. You want free breakfast and free wifi, go someplace cheap.) I mean, we didn’t have internet back in 1983. But we did have a computer.

But as of early this afternoon, it’s back. It’s functioning properly. And, again, it was much cheaper than buying a new computer. So now I need to get caught up.

I was in San Francisco for work last week. I was not a very exciting person. Between the time difference and being pregnant, I went to bed around five each night I was there. I was able to meet up with Heather, one of my KAMSC classmates (not to be confused with any of my other friends named Heather), for lunch. We generally see each other once a year, at this conference. As always, it was nice to get caught up in person and not just on Facebook. (Yes, I told her that I’m pregnant. The truth was the easiest explanation for why I needed to go to bed instead of dinner at 5.) It was nice to see her in the middle of the day when I was awake and able to eat. Despite all the beautiful food to be had in SF, I ate a lot of Starbucks this trip. I’d pick up a yogurt or fruit cup in the middle of the day to have for dinner after the conference that evening. Yes, despite the drugs, I still feel sick. The good news is that I don’t feel sick 24/7. The bad news is that the Unisom/B6 combination wears off before it’s time to take the next dose. But an hour or so each morning and each evening of being miserable is far preferable to throwing up in the middle of the night because I’m so sick.

The high point of the conference proper? Definitely Margaret Edson giving the final plenary session. For those of you who aren’t massive theatre geeks, she wrote W;t. And if you aren’t familiar with W;t, I highly recommend you become so. It’s a beautiful play, well adapted into a film. You’ll laugh. You’ll cry. It’s better than Cats.

And on Monday, when I was back to work, I told Connie that I’m pregnant. I was sure she’d already figured it out. It’s not as though Dr Z is particularly subtle. I was exhausted from my flights home (delayed, took 12 hours door-to-door) and said something about already being exhausted because I was pregnant. So now the two people I see the most at work know.

And the other major thing that happened while my computer was out of commission? It’s a post unto itself. I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

