Ta Ta, GR

February 11, 2013

Today I got to say fare-thee-well to the fertility clinic. My mom was sorely disappointed that she was going to miss this appointment. You see, my parents have this other kid, and he’s got kids, and sometimes they get this crazy notion that they should actually go and visit them. (Love you, Matt, Jane, Emily, and Felicity!) But there was no way I was postponing this appointment until they got back. I did ask a couple of friends if they might be available to go with me, but being working adults (unlike my retiree parents), a 1pm appointment is at a really lousy time. But I knew this would be short and sweet, or as sweet as a transvaginal ultrasound can be, so it really wasn’t that big of a deal to go alone. Jenny wound up being free, but she would have had to bring the baby with, and it would be right over lunch and naptime, so I told her not to worry about it.

And it was a short and sweet appointment. He did the ultrasound. We heard the heartbeat. Okay, I could actually see it beating. The bump still looks a lot like an alien, but that’s what I expected. And then he printed copies for me, for my mom, and for Borgess. He determined my due date based on the ultrasound measurements. (It’s now officially 9/10.) I listened as he dictated my discharge letter, and that was it.

It was kind of hard to say farewell to the staff. Carla wasn’t working today, so I’d already said good-bye to her at my last appointment. They told me to send pictures. I haven’t decided if I will or not. As you know, it’s been a roller coaster dealing with this practice.

And the amazing thing is that I wound up with a credit on my account there. As soon as I got pregnant, my insurance kicked in. I spent a lot of money to get pregnant, and in the end, they owe me.

And I have to say that I’m not going to miss driving to Grand Rapids in the dark of winter anymore. From now on, I only have to go as far as the hospital here in Kalamazoo. This is definitely starting to move from the surreal to the real.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

