Nightmares and Needles

March 15, 2013

I had a horrible dream last night. Remember back when we thought it might be twins? Remember how I said the doctor was just a bit sadistic that day? How he said that there was only one unless it was identical twins? Well, I had a dream last night that he was wrong. It was twins. And each of them had split into triplets. There were six. Two sets of identical triplets. I don’t recall doing the cinematic sit-straight-up-in-bed-upon-waking, but I’m pretty sure I said “there’s only one” out loud when I woke up. And if I really did say it out loud, I definitely said it more than once.

And that’s how I began the day of my three-hour fasting glucose tolerance test. I didn’t get much sleep after that dream.

As for the test itself, I think it went okay. I stopped and picked up my mom so that she could keep me company in the waiting room between draws. We knit and talked. One of her knitting groups had originally been slated to meet that day. Yes, there was brief discussion of moving the venue to the waiting room at the lab. My mother strongly discouraged them, and then knitting got canceled anyway.

But back to the test itself. The phlebotomist was impressed at how stoically I downed the solution. (I hear lemon-lime is the flavor to pick. My choices, however, were once again orange or fruit punch. I went with the orange.) She also asked if I was pregnant. Curse you, advanced maternal age, making me take a blood test that younger women don’t have to take until they’re showing! Around an hour in, I started to feel a sugar crash, so that’s a good sign. I didn’t feel that with the one-hour non-fasting test that I failed by two points. And I drank 32+ ounces of water in less than three hours. I was running to the bathroom every 30 minutes by the end of it.

My arm is a little bruised, but it really wasn’t that bad. I’m really grateful to my mom for hanging out with me, especially since she was starting to come down with something and took a nap as soon as we got back to her house. I don’t think the three hours would have gone by quite so quickly if I’d been sitting in the waiting room alone, no matter how good of a book I was reading.

And now, I wait. I’m working on the “no news is good news” principle.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Nightmares and Needles

  1. Maria

    I have done the GTT twice, unpregnant (when my doc was trying to catch me being diabetic…). Nobody ever offered me lemon lime either, just disgusto-orange

Leave a Reply

