My Baby is a Night Owl

April, 23, 2013

Sunday night, I was curled up with my body pillow between my knees as usual and thought I felt something. But I wasn’t sure. It was hard to tell. Maybe it was just the sheets or the pillowcase.

But last night, there was no mistaking it. I may have been wanting to be asleep, but the bump was doing the cancan.

I’ve been waiting for this. The last two times the nurse has tried to listen for the baby’s heartbeat, it was kicking so much that it was hard to get a reading. I’ve heard the baby kick, but it wasn’t until Sunday night that I actually felt it.

And last night, when I knew that I really was feeling it move, I was in bed at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing. And my mom was still asleep. And I lay there and told myself I should not wake her up just to tell her that I’d just felt the baby move. And I didn’t. She woke up to go to the bathroom, so I didn’t have to wake her up to tell her.

And as I lay there trying to fall back asleep, the baby kept right on dancing. Momma may be a morning lark, but baby? Baby is apparently a night owl.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

