I’ve Popped

May 1, 2013

I’ve looked kind of pregnant for a couple of weeks now. That is to say that the people who know I’m pregnant can see that I’m sporting a bump.

My mom and I thought I looked pregnant two weeks ago when we took my 19-week pictures. But last week, when we took my 20-week pictures, the difference was huge. Or so I thought.

And then I got dressed this morning. And when I was checking the mirror to make sure the folded waist of my pants was as smooth as it can get, I realized I definitely look pregnant now. I now have the sort of bump that could lead to whispered conversations amongst those who haven’t heard yet. (Is Beth pregnant? She looks pregnant.)

Not that I expect any of them to ask. I think most of the people I know work along the lines of the comedian (I’ve forgotten which) who once said that you should never ask a woman if she’s pregnant, even if you can see the baby crowning.

It’s both exciting and a little scary. I definitely feel like time is moving too fast. I’m a little over half-way to my due date, and I’m not sure I’m ready to be that far along. I want to enjoy this time. Yes, I know that come September, I’ll be ready for it to be over, but I’m not there yet. I want to cling to every minute. Just me and the bump who has made its presence known.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’ve Popped

  1. Dave Barry. “You should never say anything to a woman that even remotely suggests you think she’s pregnant unless you can see an actual baby emerging from her at that moment.”

Leave a Reply

