I’m Having a (Drumroll Please)…

May 2, 2013

I had my ultrasound today. Or maybe I should say my latest ultrasound today. The bump has gotten its picture taken two times already. But it was definitely time for new pictures. February was a long time ago.

And I do have to say that as uncomfortable as transvaginal ultrasounds are, they do have one thing over the more commonly recognized jelly-on-the-belly ultrasound. You get to have a TV ultrasound on an empty bladder. I was relieved, however, that I was just told to arrive with a “nice, full bladder”, not directed to guzzle 32 oz of water in the hour prior to my appointment. A nice, full bladder may be uncomfortable, but at least it lacks the nauseating factor of chugging too much water too fast.

And since I know you’re all dying to know, it’s official. I’m having a human. I was all prepared to write a blog post about the alien baby. I mean, ultrasound pictures have a history of being clear to the tech and the doctor. Oh, that’s a foot? If you say so. But the first thing I saw, clear as day, was my baby’s brain. And all the little vertebrae in its spine. And its tiny ribs. We could see the blood flow through all four chambers of its heart, and yes, I could easily distinguish between the long ventricles and the round atria. With the contrast showing blood flow, we could easily see the aortic arch. The only thing I couldn’t easily identify was the kidneys, but there they were, a matching pair just as it should have.

And down between its legs? I don’t know. I wasn’t looking. I don’t want to know. My mom looked, but she said she has no clue if she was looking at a boy or a girl. The tech, of course, was mum.

And the bump? The bump had decided it was nap time. It took a while, but the tech finally got it to roll over. And then she started taking the classic ultrasound pictures, those somewhat ghostly outlines of the baby’s profile. But she didn’t stop there. She started taking 3D pictures, too. I was not expecting that at all. Everything I knew about 4D ultrasounds (don’t forget to include time in those dimensions) was that they were a separate procedure. And that they cost a pretty penny. But I walked out of my appointment with traditional pictures and 3D pictures (in both color and black-and-white).

Obviously, my mother continues to be amazed at how for ultrasounds have come in the 34 years since she had one with me. But they’ve come a long way in the six years since my youngest niece was born. I will definitely treasure the pictures I walked out with, and not just because someone told me what they are pictures of. They are clear as can be without explanation.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’m Having a (Drumroll Please)…

  1. Cathy

    How exciting! I love that you’ve decided not to find out the gender. It will be a wonderful surprise. Aren’t ultrasounds incredible. I remember the first time I heard the heartbeat, too. It brought tears to my eyes. So beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

