Bump’s First Election

May 7, 2013

This has been one of those weeks where I’m trying to figure out how best to fit errands and chores into my schedule. You see, the Medieval Congress is this week, but I still need to go grocery shopping and do laundry and such. But since sessions run until 5, I know I won’t want to do anything like that once the Congress starts. And I thought putting laundry off until Wednesday was a good idea so that I’d have clothes well into next week. So I decided that today would be a good day to go grocery shopping. And then I remembered that it was an election day.

I have missed very few elections since I turned 18, and one of those I was actually disenfranchised, so it wasn’t my choice. ROME ALERT. (Like a spoiler alert. In case you’re sick of my stories about when I lived in Rome.) Yes, it was when I was living in Rome. There was a mid-term election. It also happened to be a gubernatorial election here in Michigan. So before I left the country, I went to the township office and applied for my absentee ballot. In August. Gave them plenty of time to get me a ballot for the election in November. Well, the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November came and went, and there was still no sign of my ballot. It finally arrived in February. There was 60 cents postage on it. It was a big fat envelope. And they put 60 cents postage on it. To go to Italy. It must have been sent by boat because there was definitely not enough postage for it to arrive by air. There weren’t any “air mail” stickers on it either, for that matter.

Anyway, I do my best to exercise my right to vote, and that’s a value I want to instill in the bump, so I realized I had to squeeze hitting the polls in to today. At least it was a small local election with a whopping two items on the ballot, so I knew the chances of seeing a line were slim, and I opted to go after work instead of before. I was voter number 87, which I figure makes the bump voter number 87.5.

And then I went to Harding’s because I really didn’t feel like driving all the way to Meijer even though I’d written my grocery list based on the Meijer circular.

And so went the bump’s first trip to the polls. It definitely won’t be the last.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

