My “First” Mother’s Day

May 12, 2013

So remember how earlier this week I decided I didn’t feel like driving all the way to Meijer after voting so I did my grocery shopping at Harding’s instead? And remember how this was slightly awkward because I’d written my list based on the Meijer’s circular and not the Harding’s one, but it wasn’t really that big of a deal because the things that I needed I would have bought regardless of what was on sale? (You know, milk, yogurt, fruit…) Well, there was one thing that was on sale at Meijer that was not available at Harding’s. I’ve recently outfitted my balcony with a café table, umbrella and chairs. The table is glass-top, so I definitely need placements, and placemats were on sale. I forgot about this until I walked into Harding’s and opened the shopping list app on my phone. I mentioned this to my mom, and as she hadn’t gone to Meijer yet this week, she offered to pick four up for me while she was there.

Anyway, there wasn’t anything at the Medieval Congress that sounded riveting enough to give up half my Sunday, especially when my parents and I had already made plans to do an early supper followed by Plainwell Ice Cream (meaning, of course, that I would have been busy the entire day). As we were walking from the car into the pub, I noticed my mom was carrying a gift bag.

“You didn’t get me a Mother’s Day gift, did you?” I chided.

“No,” she said.

And she insists that she didn’t, not really. You see, the bump told its nonna that its momma needed four placemats and a card. So Nonna, of course, obliged. Yes, I got a gift from the bump. And then I treated the bump to Plainwell Ice Cream. It was a lovely way to celebrate Mother’s Day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

