So, Apparently, I’m Pregnant

I know. You’re shocked. I can hear you all gasping. But it’s been funny at work over the past few weeks because all of a sudden, people are realizing or hearing or learning directly from me that, yes, indeed, I am pregnant. I think my favorite interchange was with one of the doctors who heard it from my boss.

“I was so relieved when Dr Zeller told me you were pregnant. I mean, I didn’t want to say anything…”

So my assessment of my colleagues was correct. They noticed that I was growing something, but just in case it turned out that I’d gained weight in a rather pregnant fashion without actually being pregnant, they’re all too polite to comment. (Of course, I do live in the Midwest, and we are a polite sort of people in general.)

But I am not above playing the pregnancy card while I can. I went to see Bye Bye Birdie at Kindleberger on Sunday, and while I did manage to find a parking space that did not require climbing down the hill and then back up the hill, it was a reasonable walk with no shade to get to where my parents and nieces were waiting for me. And when the volunteer came putting along in the golf cart, I told him I would happily take a ride instead of walking. And after the show? Why, yes. Yes, I did take a ride back to my car.

And last night before going to bed, I did break down and turn on the air. At that time, I didn’t find the temperature in my apartment to be too bad, but it was pretty humid. And with today’s temperatures in the 90s and heat index of 100, I have to say that I’m really happy to be living someplace with central air. If I were still in my old apartment, I’d be naked on my yoga mat in the middle of my living room right now. (That would have put me directly under the ceiling fan in that room.) Instead, I still have clothes on. Which is good because as soon as I post this, I’m headed over to my parents’ to have dinner. It’s going to be another busy week. My nieces are here through Saturday. And while my parents don’t actually expect me to see them every day this week, I probably still will.

And, yes, this means the family shower hosted by my nieces is on Saturday. Stay tuned. I’ve only heard a few details of exactly what’s been planned. Something about a ring toss…

P.S. Okay, there was one other exchange with a colleague that highly amused me, but it was with someone who already knew I was pregnant:

“Beth, I’ve been meaning to ask you what you’re having.”

“A baby.”

She rolled her eyes. “I know that.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “So, Apparently, I’m Pregnant

  1. Anne

    Oh that’s too funny! At least you are not alone, I have heard similar stories from all my friends who are mothers. On the other hand, I have one friend who carries her extra weight in the tummy and she said about twice a year a stranger at the supermarket will ask her when she is due!

Leave a Reply

