Happy November!

November 2, 2013

It’s once again National Novel Writing Month. I’m not going rogue this year. Last year, you may recall, I was just a wee bit behind in writing blog posts. And so I used my NaNo-ing time to write blog posts. 50,000 words worth of blog posts. But I’m not behind in writing my blog this year. In fact, I’m ahead. I’m stockpiling. I don’t know what my next step is, so I’m letting what gets posted fall behind what’s been written. It might not actually be November anymore when this goes live.

No, this year, I’m returning to the spirit of NaNoWriMo. I’m writing a novel from scratch. Don’t get too excited. I’ve gone in for absolute whimsy this year. I don’t even know exactly what this year’s novel is about. It’s a palate cleanser, not a dish to be taken seriously. But there may be a book coming post-NaNo. I’ll let you know if there is.

I had initially thought to let my mom stay home tonight, but since Wednesday, the nights are again too long. I’ve been home alone most of the day. I met up with Sheri for coffee mid-morning, so that took me out. It’s the first we’ve seen each other since both of us delivered. She goes back to work on Monday. And it was a good diversion. And then I came home and worked on my NaNo novel. And that, too, has been a good diversion. I’d been wondering how I was going to manage being a single mom with a new baby and do NaNo, too. But instead it turns out to be something that I really need this year. A distraction. Something to let my mind imagine things other than why it’s my fault that Sofia is dead. And, yes, the rational part of my brain keeps telling me that, no, it’s not my fault. But in the middle of the night, my rational brain likes to sleep. But NaNo will give my irrational brain a workout, so maybe it will be tired in the middle of the night, too.

P.S. Someone set off the fire alarm. There’s no fire. I’m writing this as I wait for the alarm to turn off. It’s getting really old.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy November!

  1. Nonna Sue

    Coaching your mother through writing 50,000 words was no easy task!

Leave a Reply

