Food With Friends

November 10, 2013

Today has been a pretty good day. It was the first meeting of a new meal exchange group, a trial run to see how to make this work. The group consisted of me, my mom, Lizzie, and Nicki. We each prepared something to go in the freezer, and we each brought a dish for a potluck lunch. And, of course, we each brought our knitting. Or rather, my mom, Lizzie, and Nicki brought. We met at my place. Another first achieved. The first company since Sofia. (My parents don’t count.)

And it was good. We talked. We laughed. We ate. We knit. We talked. And we laughed some more. I feel more melancholy than sad. And I’m not nearly as angry as I was on Thursday. While I’m still sadder than I was at knitting group in October, I feel much better than I felt two days ago. And having our focus be on taking care of each other, working as a community, was definitely good. It is something normal. It wasn’t about cooking for me. It was about cooking for each other.

The scab is reforming. I know there are still things that will tear at it, and that that is why it will leave a scar and not heal cleanly. But I’m taking those steps that will bring me back to where I was two weeks ago. Lunch and knitting today definitely helped with that process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

