Moving. Slowly.

November 13, 2013

Sofia would have been two months old today. This weekend, my mom suggested that maybe I should take today, Wednesday, off. I asked her why she thought I should take Wednesday off. She pointed out that it was the 13th. That awful night I spent at my parents’ house followed by the day in which I couldn’t bring myself to do anything? That day that I did nothing but cry? That was October 13th. When Sofia would have been one month old. I hadn’t made the connection until she pointed it out. I didn’t take today off. I said I’d prefer to play it by ear. If I had another awful night, then I’d take the day off. If I was feeling the same way I did last month, I would take the day off. But it went okay.

I do have to say that my “sponsor” was right. My colleagues can’t do anything right. I never knew my colleagues were so touchy-feely. And in the past, I probably wouldn’t have minded. I’m normally pretty touchy-feely myself. But what really bothers me is that they don’t ask first. They just hug me or pat me on the shoulder as I’m trying to walk past them in the hall. Most of the time I don’t want to be touched, but I have no say in the matter. The uber-sympathetic “how are you doing?” questions are getting old, too. Everyone was asking me that back in August. It was annoying then, and it’s annoying now. <sigh> Work would be so much easier if I were invisible. Or if there weren’t other people around. I mean, what’s up with that? What are other people doing being at work in the middle of the week?!?

So things are continuing to improve. Slowly. But I’m getting actual work done. Also slowly. But I do keep moving. Even if I’m moving slowly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

