There’s No TARDIS Either

November 14, 2013

This morning, mid-morning, there was a tap on my door. I thought it was Courtney, checking in, needing a bit of a break. But I was wrong. It was one of the associate deans. She began her medical career as an OB/GYN before moving into the administration side of medical education. Back in August, she assured me that in all her years of practice, she’d never had a patient labor on Labor Day.

She wanted to see how I was doing. She wanted to welcome me back. She wanted me to know that it was okay to keep my door closed. She wanted me to know that she was available if I ever need to talk.

“Let me know if there’s anything I can do. I know there probably isn’t; I left my magic wand in South Dakota when I moved here.”

Yeah. I wish she did have a magic wand. I wish Lori knew how to build a time machine.

She closed the door behind her when she left. And I sat at my desk and sobbed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

