What’s Making Me Happy

November 15, 2013

I’m not sure if you listen to Pop Culture Happy Hour. If you’re a librarian, you know what I’m talking about. If you’re a librarian and don’t know what I’m talking about, well, you should start listening. And if you’re neither a librarian nor a listener, I highly recommend you listen, too.

The gang at Pop Culture Happy Hour ends each episode with “What’s Making Me Happy This Week”. I think I should start doing the same. Not for each blog post, but maybe each week. Because as sad as I’ve been (with good reason, I think we can all agree), there are still little things that make me smile. And I think it’s good to remind myself (and all of us) that I (we) can still feel joy amidst the sorrow.

So, here’s what’s making me happy this week:

  1. My cousin Kristy lives in Detroit. (No, that’s not what’s making me happy.) She wanted to be able to cook for me (and my parents), but she lives too far away. Instead, she sent a care package of soup mixes. It was a wonderful hug from all the way across the state.
  2. I was sitting at a red light and watched as the occupants of two cars in front of me (they were next to each other) waved to each other. Simultaneously, the driver in the car next to me was speaking with her hand, quite animatedly, to her passenger. What can I say? It made me smile.
  3. And NPR is making me happy. Or more specifically this. Nina Totenberg and her intern are making me happy.

So there you go. Little things. But happy things. Now to see if I remember to do this again next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

