A Quiet Day

November 16, 2013

Today was very uneventful. Not that I’m complaining. Far from it. I did the laundry. I made a quick run to Harding’s. I wrote. My NaNo novel continues to be very unfocused. It’s got a certain Candide quality to it. I still have no clue where it’s going or how it’s going to end. But I passed 35k today, so I only have 15k left to write.

I also watched a little PBS. I couldn’t resist. Last night they aired Oklahoma! This is not my favorite show. Don’t let the fact that I’ve been in it three times fool you. I just don’t love it. I know some people do, but I’m not one of them. But the production that PBS aired last night is irresistible for two reasons.

Reason #1: Hugh Jackman. Shirtless. Need I say more?

Reason #2: I was studying in Rome when this production was up in London. My friend Betsy was studying in London. On my spring break, I stopped in London for a couple of days to see her. She, quite wisely, strongly recommended I see this production of Oklahoma! Like I’d resist! Susan Stroman choreography! Curly and Laurie doing their own dancing in the dream sequence! I’d heard about this production. I’d heard really good things about this production. And Betsy (and the critics) were right. This is an awesome production. It wasn’t until several years later that I learned the very attractive shirtless Curly was none other than Hugh Jackman. So there’s a hefty dose of nostalgia when I watch it. I still can’t believe that I saw it live.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

