A Tree Grows in Parchment

November 24, 2013
While I was at knitting group today, I got a phone call from a number I didn’t recognize. Since I A) didn’t recognize the number and B) was out with friends, I let it go to voicemail. When I got home and checked my messages, I found out that it was Ben from Mulder’s calling. He just wanted to let me know that Sofia’s tree was now planted and mulched.
I have days now when I’m not sure the past year was even real, that any of the truly momentous things had actually happened. Surely it was all a dream. But then I look into the nursery. Or touch Sofia’s blanket. Or receive a phone call telling me that her memorial tree is in its permanent location.
And the timing couldn’t be better. My brother was the person who first suggested this. He’ll be in town for Thanksgiving. We can go to her tree together this week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

