A Thoughtful/les Gesture

November 25, 2013

I was on my lunch break today when my phone rang.  My phone.  Not my office phone.  My personal phone.  (I don’t really answer my office phone these days.  I let it go to voice mail.  And then I check my voice mail the next morning.  You want to reach me?  Email me.)

Anyway, my phone rang.  And it was Borgess calling.  Now, it seemed odd that I’d already be getting a reminder call about my mammogram, but I answered anyway.  And I was right.  About the weird part, that is.  It was not a reminder call about my mammogram.  It was Andrea, the medical assistant who works with the Centering groups.  She wanted to make sure I knew when the reunion for my Centering group was going to be held.  She wasn’t sure if I’d planned to attend, so she wanted to make sure I had the right date and time.

And she asked how I was doing.  I told her that I was okay, and then something would happen.  There’d be that one colleague who hadn’t heard yet.  Or I’d get the call that Sofia’s tree has been planted.  I did not add that I’d get a call asking if I wanted to go to the Centering reunion.  I could have, but I’m a good Midwestern girl, so I politely left that one out.

I do appreciate the thought.  I know it came from a place of caring.  She wanted to make sure I knew that I wasn’t being left out.  But I would have preferred not to have received that call.  Why would I want to go?  Do any of them really think I want to go and see all of their babies when I don’t have my own?  The thought of it makes my heart ache.  I do wish them all well.  Really, I do.  But I don’t want to see any of them.  Not now.  Maybe someday.  But now?  Now is too soon.

P.S.  Accreditation Update:  FedEx shows that everything has been received by the ACCME.  Woohoo!  I texted my boss to let him know.  He texted back: “Thanks.  Can you provide me with a complete set for my office and review? Including activity files.”  Really Dr Z?  Really?  Not like we’re changing anything now!  But I will happily give him all of the extra copies of the activity files and the hard copy of the self-study.  I have the PDF saved to our server.  I don’t need a hard copy of the self-study.  I will, however, keep a copy of the activity files for myself.  So, yes, we really and truly are done until our interview in March!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

