Neverland

December 1, 2013

We took my nieces to see Peter Pan today.  And while I was looking forward to all of the pirate scenes (my favorite song is Captain Hook’s Waltz), I was not looking forward to the nursery scenes.  Which is kind of sad because my friend Kelly was playing Mrs Darling.  But just thinking about Tender Shepherd makes me tear up, let alone watching it be performed.

But that wasn’t what got me.  When the Lost Boys gathered around Peter, and s/he began to sing the Lullaby…  Well, at that moment, I really wished I had an aisle seat so that I didn’t have to climb past the family of three sitting next to me.  Don’t get me wrong.  Climb over them I did.  I was kind of grateful that I needed to go to the bathroom.  This was at the Civic, my theatre, so I knew which door I could slip out through without letting too much light into the auditorium.  And I just about ran downstairs to the bathroom.  Fortunately, there are no monitors over which you can still hear the show in there, so I was able to cry just a little and then pull myself back together.  I slipped back into the auditorium and stood at the back, right by the door, in case I needed to escape again.  And I really should have waited until the act was over.  Because it’s at the end of Act I that Peter asks the audience to clap if they believe in fairies so that Tinker Bell won’t die.  And I lost it.  Never thought that scene would make me cry.  I was prepared to cry at the end.  (Which I did.)  But I didn’t think I would have as hard of a time holding it together.

For the record:  Excellent production.  The natives were wonderfully weird without a hint of Native American to them.  The pirates were hilarious.  The Lost Boys were fun.  I really enjoyed it.  When it wasn’t making me cry.

P.S. I saw Nicki at intermission, and we hugged it out.  And I got a hug from her two-and-a-half-year-old daughter, too.

P.P.S. A big thank you to Nicki (the director) and Mike (the Civic’s staff stage manager) for giving me their comp tickets so that my whole family could see the show for free.  That was far above and beyond my simple request to make sure I knew when tickets went on sale!  I love you guys!  (But not because you gave me your tickets.  I loved you before that!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

