I’m Still Here

December 2, 2013

I really didn’t want to go to work today.  And I really didn’t want to be at work once I got there.  It was one of those days that I felt more like I was paying lip-service to my job than actually working at it.  I did a little.  I didn’t do nothing.  But I can’t say that I accomplished much.

And I know why.  It’s the first day back after a holiday weekend.  And I really didn’t want to talk about it.  At all.  I wanted to be invisible so that people couldn’t see me to ask how my Thanksgiving was.  ‘Cause you know how it was.  It sucked.  It really sucked.  And I love Thanksgiving.  And I didn’t want to talk about how much it sucked.

So I closed my door and stared at my computer.  I sorted through the emails that arrived since Tuesday.  I responded to one.  I checked my voice mail.  And that’s pretty much it.

The bathroom is still too far away.  And my office would be greatly improved if I had a Keurig or other single-serve coffee/tea/hot beverage maker (one of the ones with a large water reservoir).  Then I wouldn’t have to walk down to the kitchen each time my mug ran dry.  The kitchen isn’t as far away as the bathroom, but it still increases the risk that I will see people when I’m trying to be invisible.

So to the person who asked how I am today, the one to whom I didn’t respond:  I’m sad today.  I feel crummy.  Please just pretend that I’m not here.  Can’t you see that I’m trying to be invisible?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

