Facebook Feelings

December 4, 2013

I confess that I do kind of enjoy scrolling through the list of possible Facebook feelings to select the one that best goes with a status update.  But the possible feelings are severely lacking.  One can’t be melancholy.  More importantly, one can’t feel bittersweet.  And that’s really how I feel most of the time.

Watching Peter Pan on Sunday was fun.  It was enjoyable.  And it was sad.  It made me happy, and it made me need to run away.  All at the same time.

I’m decorating for the holidays.  Usually I put on Christmas music to do this.  I love Christmas music.  But thinking about it right now also makes me cry.  I never got to sing Christmas carols with Sofia.

Everything is bittersweet.  The things that make me happy also make me sad.  I keep running the depression checklist through my head.  But I think I really am okay.  I’m not just sad.  I’m happy, too.  I’m both.  All at once.  I’m happy-sad and sad-happy.  Life is joyous and sorrowful.  It’s bittersweet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

