TGIF

December 6, 2013

I’ve survived another week, which means it’s time for another round of What’s Making Me Happy This Week:

  1. Peter Pan at the Civic.  Yes, it made me cry.  But it was a lot of fun to watch my nieces the first time Peter flew onto the stage.  And my friends who directed and choreographed did an excellent job putting together a great show.  (I don’t know the music director, so I can’t lump him in that same category.  He did a good job, too.)
  2. Whiskey Before Breakfast did a lunchtime concert at one of the churches downtown.  Nicki and I met up at her office and walked the block-and-a-half to the concert.  It was fun, but I have to say that they are better suited to pubs than churches.
  3. My official Nancy Rose Stefanik May Not Want To Read This At Work Alerts.  A while ago, my friend Nancy posted that she was sobbing at work as she read one of my posts.  I apologized and told her that I should have warned her not to read it until she got home.  And thus was born the Nancy Rose Stefanik May Not Want To Read This At Work Alert.  When I share one of my sadder posts on Facebook, I put one of these alerts before the link.  And then I chuckle.  (And Nancy tells me that she does, too.)
  4. My brother.  And not because he’s my big brother and wishes he could do something to fix everything and make it all better because that’s what big brothers are supposed to do.  I’m laughing with/at him this week because he has flown to England to participate in the annual Reindeer Ride that he and a friend started about six years ago.  He dresses as Santa, and eight other people (including his co-conspirator) dress as reindeer.  He and his friend ride on a tandem.  The other seven reindeer ride single bicycles.  And they ride to the tree farm.  And buy the tree.  And strap it onto the tandem.  And then ride home. With a couple of laps around the town square.  My brother hasn’t been able to play Santa since he moved back to the States.  He flew to England last night (arriving today) so that he can play Santa in the Reindeer Ride tomorrow.  He flies back on Sunday.  How can that not make you happy?
  5. And on a slightly different note, Nelson Mandela passed away yesterday.  And while people can argue about his early life and whether or not the ANC was a terrorist organization, the man that he was upon emerging from Robbin Island was a man filled with grace who taught all of us about the power of forgiveness.  The world is a better place for having had him in it.  Of course his death does not make me happy.  But the fact that he lived absolutely does.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

