It’s Winter!

December 7, 2013

It turned cold on Thursday, but it was last night that it started to snow.  And it was the perfect sort of snow.  Light and fluffy.  And my parents and I were headed out to hear the Kalamazoo Concert Band’s holiday concert.  This morning, there was enough snow that there was more snow that grass.  One of the things that I love about winter is how the snow just makes everything clean.  Sure, by the end of winter, the snow is dirty and grey, but this is new snow, which is white and bright.

The concert was good, mostly.  Tom Wopat was the special guest.  His set was, well, weird.  I’m not sure I understand how he made his song selections know that it was part of a holiday concert.  But he got his guild card here, so he has a soft spot for Kalamazoo, and Kalamazoo has a soft spot for him.  The Concert Band’s half of the show was great.  They played a very fun arrangement of Jingle Bells.  It was one of those pieces that I wanted to choreograph as I was listening to it.

And then they did a sing-along medley.  And the last song in it was Silent Night.  I didn’t make it through the first line.  You know the line:  Silent night, holy night.  That one.  Four words.  Couldn’t sing them.  I sobbed through it.  I have a feeling it will be a very long time before I can sing that song again.  Which also makes me sad because I love that song.  I’ve been to Joseph Mohr’s birthplace in Salzburg.  (Totally stumbled upon it while I was looking for something else.  What a dichotomy it was to visit all of the Mozart sites and then go to Mohr’s one-room apartment!)  I love how it was written to be so simple because the organ was broken.  But even thinking about the lyric right now is making me tear up.

My mom and I probably would have left before the concert ended, but my dad wanted to stay.  So we were good people and stayed throughout.  (Although I will confess that my mom and I made a variety of snarky comments.  But in our defense, not all of them were about the weirdness that was Tom Wopat’s set.  Several were directed to the idiots who kept taking flash photos.)

Today has been fairly peaceful.  Pretty snow.  My mom and I had hair appointments.  I picked up two more strings of lights for my tree.  I was going to put it up today, but I got distracted.  I’ll put it up tomorrow morning instead.  We’ll see if I have enough lights yet or not.  And that will pretty much decorate my place for Christmas.  Hopefully Christmas will be better than Thanksgiving was.  It’s been a much lower-key holiday for us for several years now.

I’m not really ready for it to be as far into December as it is.  I feel as though someone put the clocks on fast forward.  Time is just moving too fast.  So for now, I’m doing my best to stay in the now.  Light my candles.  Watch the snow.  Breathe in and breathe out.  Enjoy each moment that is this beautiful, dark, snowy time of the year.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “It’s Winter!

  1. There is something about that song that brings me to tears as well.

Leave a Reply

