A Word on Stage Husbands

December 11, 2013

I’m not sure which person counts as my first stage husband.  I usually count it as when I played Jeanne in Brigadoon.  The role of Charlie was recast during rehearsals.  So is my first stage husband Chris, the original Charlie, or is it Roger, who played the role during performances?  Prescott is definitely one of my favorite stage husbands – both a good kisser and a great dancer!  And then there’s the other Roger who has played both my father and my husband.  When he got cast as the latter, I asked if that made him my sugar daddy.  (The director hadn’t realized he’d once played my father.)

So why am I telling you this?  An understandable question.  Well, stage husbands can be useful.  Yesterday, my mom got a call from a friend who said that one of her (the friend’s) daughter’s stage husbands is in the production of Mamma Mia that’s currently touring through Kalamazoo.  He’d offered her two comp tickets.  Did we perhaps want them?  Well, obviously, the answer is yes!  The tickets are at will call under his name, the friend’s name, and my mom’s name.  Assuming they’re real.  But either way, this evening is going to be a great adventure.  I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow.

And, yes, I do know that I’ll cry.  But this is a show that made me cry long before Sofia.  I may cry harder than I would have in the past, but I’m prepared.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

