Energizer Bunny

December 15, 2013

The snow must be running on Energizer batteries because it just keeps going.  Our winter weather advisory was supposed to end at 10pm.  Last night.  Now it’s supposed to end at 7pm.  Tonight.  I’ll believe it when it happens.  But the good news is that I didn’t have to go anywhere today.  I’ve gone as far as the laundry room.  It is a pity that I couldn’t just keep staying home, but tomorrow is Monday, and there’s work to be done.

So here’s the question:  How do I tell a pregnant colleague that I don’t want to hear about her impending due date?  She’s not a WMed employee; I’m pretty sure she doesn’t know about what happened to Sofia.  On Friday, I got an email from her to the effect that she’s still pregnant but doesn’t expect to be at work much longer.  I marked it as unread and closed it.  How was I supposed to say that my daughter would have been three months old that day?  That she should have been three months old?  I will have to respond to her question tomorrow.  It’s not something I can pass off to my admin.  So, yeah, I really don’t want to go to work tomorrow.

But that’s tomorrow.  It’s still today.  The Christmas knitting is done.  I’m back to working on my sweater, which is now more done than not.  And I’m watching it snow.  I hope that it does stop this evening so that the roads are clear by tomorrow morning, but I can’t deny that it’s still beautiful to look at.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

