“Working” Offsite

December 17, 2013

I keep having this conversation with myself.

Me: It’s December 15.  Christmas is next week.
Myself:  How is that possible?  It’s December 15.  That means Christmas is ten days away.  That’s more than a week.  Christmas is in two weeks.
Me:  But I’ve lit the third candle on the Advent wreath.  That means Christmas is next week.
Myself:  But it can’t be.  It’s December 15.  Christmas is in ten days.  Ten days is two weeks.

You will note a couple of things.

  1. It is not December 15.
  2. Even if it were December 15, ten days does not equal two weeks.

Yes, I’m a little confused.  I had this conversation with myself yesterday and at least once today.  I’m not sure if it’s denial because I’m not ready for Christmas or denial because there’s a lot of work that needs to be done before the end of the year.  But I still spent much of today merely “working”.

You see, Dr Z was taking us out to lunch for Christmas today.  And then I was going to drive him to the airport.  And then, depending on the time, I was probably not going to make it back to the office.  Well, it’s still winter here.  And it was snowing.  So his flight was delayed.  And then it was canceled.  And I did not offer to drive him to Detroit.  I thought about it, but I really didn’t want to drive that far on I-94 and then have to drive back.  And he decided there really wasn’t enough time to make his connection anyway.  But he was still sans car.  So he needed a ride home.  Which put my house between where I was and where work is.  And he’d already approved for me to not go back to work.  So I didn’t.  I “worked” from home.  This work entailed calling my mom (who happened to be sitting at the Starbucks in front of the strip mall in front of my complex) to tell her I was home and then the two of us putting on our snowshoes for a tramp around the complex.

We haven’t snowshoed in years.  We’re thinking it was before I had this job.  That means it’s been at least ten years since either of us had our snowshoes on.  And it was so much fun.  And we’re going to feel it in the morning.  (Okay, we’re both feeling it already.)  We’re thinking we’ll be snowshoeing a lot this winter.  At least as long as the snow holds.  And we did a mile in 20 minutes.  Not bad for not having done it in ten years!

Oh, and no, I still haven’t decorated the tree.  I know you were wondering.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

