Apparently, I Live in an Apple Commercial

January 6, 2014

So yesterday, I was sitting here, knitting and watching some Hulu, and FaceTime rang on my iPad.  It was my brother.  Brigitte, Mike, Natalie, and Nicholas were over to celebrate Twelfth Night.  Sue and Manu were on Skype on the MacBook.  Mom and Dad were on FaceTime on Jane’s iPhone.  It was the first time all of us were gathered for Twelfth Night in, well, ages.  I don’t know how long it’s been.  I would guess that it’s been at least ten years.

For those of you unfamiliar with Twelfth Night traditions, the big one is the crowning of the king or queen.  A bean or coin or trinket is hidden in the cake, and whoever finds it is crowned.  We’ve been celebrating with the Dubois family since middle school.  I know I’ve won once.  I can’t remember if I’ve won more than once.  We’ve kept the records written on the crown.

Anyway, that was why we were all gathered via an assortment of Apple products.  We needed to select our slices of the cake, or our individual cupcakes in this year’s case.  It was pretty funny.  Especially when we were speaking to people who were attending via other devices.

My mom won.  Again.  She’s won several times.

It really was fun and funny and a delightful way to visit without having to leave my apartment.  We’re in the midst of a massive snowstorm today.  Everything is closed.  Everything.  I actually have a snow day.  It’s still supposed to be pretty nasty tomorrow morning.  Not sure what I’ll do.  Not sure I’ll be able to get my car out of the carport.  I know they’ve plowed, but unless they’ve shoveled as well, there might be too much snow in front of my car for me to get over.  I just may have to work from home.  I’m assuming we’ll be open.  In the ten years I’ve worked for KCMS/WMed, this is only the second time we’ve closed due to weather.  Closing two days in a row?  Well, I’ll believe it when I see it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

