What’s Making Me Happy This Week

February 14, 2014

  1. My knitting for the Olympics is definitely making me happy. The yarn is glorious to work with, and I’m into a simple enough section that I don’t need to keep consulting the pattern. I’ll have to give it a bit of a try-on tomorrow to see how much longer I need to knit before doing the sawtooth edging. I foresee that I’ll be ready to start knitting the straps on Monday.
  2. I am currently wearing my bathrobe. I love winter. Really. I know you’re thinking the lady doth protest too much, but I do love winter. But all of the layers! The fleece-lined tights that Matt and Jane gave me for Christmas are wonderful. They’re warm and comfortable, but I was so happy to get home and take them off today! Not having on all of the layers that are required for every foray beyond my front door is quite nice right now.
  3. In telly, Whitechapel is making me happy. Unfortunately, Hulu only has the first three seasons, but there is a fourth that aired in the UK last fall. Not sure exactly when those episodes will be released here. Is it great TV? Meh. But I really got to care about the characters. And I had to look up the bio for Phil Davis, the actor who plays DS Miles. I could not place where I knew him from. (He’s the cabbie in Sherlock’s “A Study in Pink”, in case you’re wondering.) I devoured the episodes that are currently on Hulu. Hoping they get the final episodes soon!
  4. Earlene McMichael frequently makes me happy. Specifically when she gives the weather each morning. Past reports have included telling people to wear hats and gloves. Today she told us that there might be ice on our cars, so we should leave some extra time to get out this morning. (Yes, she did not caution that the roads are icy. She cautioned that you might have to clean off your car.) She has been an absolute delight since joining the WMUK team. I look forward to hearing her every day as I’m getting ready for work in the morning.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

