A Follow-Up

February 26, 2014

Yesterday, as my mom and I were taking our preprandial walk, I was telling her about what I’d written for a blog post. She told me that it reminded her of a speaker she once heard at a work conference. (We’d give him credit, but she can’t remember his name.)

Emotional support is like a checking account. Each time we help someone out, we write a check. But just like with money, we can’t keep writing checks without also making deposits. Right now, I’m living paycheck to paycheck. I have enough emotional capital to get up and go to work. Sometimes there’s enough to go grocery shopping or to get gas. Sometimes there’s barely enough to get as far as lunch. But there’s no reserve. There are no savings that I can share. There’s just barely enough for me to get by. I’m sure the day will come when I once again have enough my account that I don’t have to spend it all on me. But that’s at a distance that I can’t quite see yet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

