Drained

March 5, 2014

I’m beat. And not in the beatnik sense of the word as a short-form of beatific. Although maybe I’m that, too. It was a busy weekend, full of good things. But I’m an introvert, and I don’t bounce back from five days at work the way I did before Sofia. This weekend didn’t give me enough time to recharge.

Every day this week, I’ve woken up and said, “I don’t want to go to work.” And it’s true. I want to curl up and sleep and read and watch bad TV.

I’ve made it through Wednesday. I only have two more days to go. This next weekend is going to be much quieter. But I still have to get there.

The fact that I spent much of today putting out fires didn’t help. It made it hard to tackle what I planned to do today when I walked into my office. Hopefully that project will get done tomorrow. Which will only put me a day behind the project that my boss wants taken care of immediately. (It’s an accreditation thing; otherwise, yes, I’d give it to my admin.) I’ve told him to corner the dean until he approves gently remind the dean that he’s been jerking us around we need him to approve the new job description yesterday as soon as possible so that we can move ahead with hiring more staff. ‘Cause I can’t do this anymore. There’s just too much work to be done. And I don’t even know where to begin. Or rather, I figure out a place to begin, and then get pulled away by the fires.

I feel like I’m rambling today. This post started with a purpose. It started as a discussion that, as much as I love my friends, I really do need more downtime than I used to. Did I mention that I’m tired?

P.S. I really wanted to end this post by saying “I’m going to go take a nap now”, but that wouldn’t have been true. My mom will be here soon, and then we’ll go for a walk. And then my dad will come, and we’ll have dinner. And then they’ll go home. And I’ll take a shower. And wash my hair. And then I’ll do my language study. And then I’ll go to sleep. Possibly in the middle of an episode of Hell’s Kitchen. It’s a show that requires no brain power to watch…

P.P.S. But before all of that, I’m going to put some knitting in my work bag. I have a webinar tomorrow. Don’t want to forget something to keep me entertained should it prove to be an absolute snoozefest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

