It’s Like I’m Losing My Mind

April 3, 2014

I’ve been coordinating conferences for ten years now.  And I am so far behind in prepping for this year’s DD Conference that I feel like I’ve never done this job before.  By this point, I’ve usually sent at least three emails to my speakers, at least two to my exhibitors, and am emailing my committee daily to pester them about filling out their disclosure forms and letting me know if there are any sessions they won’t be able to moderate.  This year, I’ve emailed confirmation notices to the my speakers (one), requests to past exhibitors (does that even count as one?), and I think I emailed the committee last week.  I can’t even remember everything that I need to do to prep for the conference this year.

So tomorrow I probably should stay in the office all day.  But I’m not going to.  I’m going to go to Kellogg and meet with Rhonda to discuss room layouts and menus.  Yes, she’s going to feed me.  Yes, this means I have to be to East Lansing by noon.  Yes, this means I will be leaving the office no later than 10:30 tomorrow morning.  Do we need to do any of this in person?  Probably not.  But I don’t care.  Of late, I can no longer think clearly by noon anyway.

Things are getting accomplished, but tomorrow, I really must sit down and make a proper list of everything that needs to be taken care of and when.  Somehow the calendar turned the page to April without consulting me first.  The conference is in less than three weeks.  Everything will get done in time; it always does.  But right now I have no idea how.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

