Gee, Thanks, HIMYM

April 9, 2014

So I finally got around to watching the series finale of How I Met Your Mother.  This is not really a post about that.  Sure, I could go on about how good writers understand that characters develop and grow and may not be willing to do what you want them to do, so forcing them into an ending you wrote eight years ago destroys everything that the characters have done and learned and felt over the subsequent years.  But, you know, whatever.  Unlike The Good Wife, I stopped really caring about HIMYM a while ago and was really just watching because there were so few chapters left to read that I might as well suck it up and finish the book.  Plus, I was really liking The Mother.  She won me over when she was knitting… for a baby she’d just met… because he didn’t have a hat and so someone needed to make him one.  I’ve been known to say similar things…

But really, this isn’t about how I feel about the finale.  Because, again, unlike The Good Wife, I didn’t really care.  So I didn’t worry about the spoilers.  So I already knew how it had ended.

No.  This is about the dream I had after I watched the episode.  You see, my parents have been at my brother’s.  And they were driving back home yesterday and today.  They stopped and spent last night in Ohio.  But I had a dream that my mother had already gotten back.  And she came to my apartment.  And woke me up.  To tell me that my father “didn’t make it”.  Because he was dead.

Now, this is not my mother’s MO.  She would not come and wake me up by clamping her hand over my mouth in order to tell me that my father was dead.  She’d call first.  She’d leave a choked message of “call me back”.  Trust me.  I got that message twice while I was in college — once when I was a freshman because my grandmother had died and once when I was a sophomore because my grandfather had died.

But I still woke up in a panic.  And I looked at the clock.  And it was 11:30.  It wasn’t even today yet.  Or as I said aloud to myself, “It’s not even tomorrow yet.”

So between that resulting in poor sleep the rest of the night, and my job being in total limbo, and my appointment with the OB on Friday, and the DD Conference being in this stage in which I feel like I don’t even know what I’m doing…  I no longer know what day it is or what time it is.  And I spent a lot of time staring at my computer at work today.  Can it just be Medieval Congress time already?  I need a break.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

