So Much Happiness

May 9, 2014

  1. We had Family Dinner on Saturday.  And you know what I mean.  The Family.  (Seriously.  You would think we were mafiosi.  I swear by my father’s pinky ring that we’re not!  Okay, he doesn’t have a pinky ring.)  It also happened to be prom night on Saturday.  My cousin’s two boys are sixteen and seventeen.  They came to Family Dinner.  With their prom dates.  Before going to prom.  Now, yes, the girls had met all of us back at Christmas, so it wasn’t as weird as it might seem at first read.  And my uncle (aka the boys’ grandpa) paid for their dinner, so it was a good deal for them.  But it was still pretty cute.
  2. I’ve been meaning to list this for a couple of weeks now.  The cover is off the pool, and the pool furniture is out.  Sure, there’s no water in it yet, and if there were, it would be freezing.  But it’s a sign that summer might happen.
  3. I am technically on vacation right now.  It’s the Medieval Congress, so I took yesterday and today off.  I even watched House Hunters International on Hulu yesterday morning while I was getting ready.  Made me feel like I was in a hotel, almost.
  4. The farmers’ market is open.  Which means rhubarb!  I love my porridge recipe.  I’ve made it so many times that I have it memorized.  But it gets old after seven months of winter.  Breakfast this week has been toast with cream cheese and stewed rhubarb.  Yum!
  5. The pita chips at North Eleven.  I was expecting thin pita chips.  No, these are thick, the pocket and all.  And I’m pretty sure I don’t really want to know how they make them.  I suspect they just cut up a pita and deep fry it.  And the leftovers were delicious with my leftover roasted tomato caprese (from dinner the night before).
  6. I got to see the famous Nancy of “Nancy Rose Stefanick May Not Want to Read This at Work Alert!” fame!  She was at North Eleven with a work group, but we still had time to hug and chat.  Facebook is great for keeping up with people, but seeing friends in real life is better.
  7. Picking up the boys was pretty funny, too.  The girls at the office had said that the container was quite large.  They weren’t kidding.  I buckled it into the back seat of my mom’s car, and she pronounced that it looked like R2-D2.
  8. My mom and I went for a lovely, albeit hot, three-mile walk around Plainwell yesterday.  (It was in the 80s.)
  9. And the reason we were walking around Plainwell?  Well, because that’s where I had my IUI.  And knowing that we’re trying is making me happy.
  10. And the sperm still needed to be thawed.  So Dr M handed me the vile and told me to hold it to warm it up and that he’d be back in about ten minutes.  Honestly, the cold felt kind of nice considering I was pretty warm from the walk.
  11. And the funniest part of it all?  I got stuck to the paper on the exam table.  My bum sweat kind of disintegrated some of it.  When I finally got around to taking my pants off back at home, a little piece of exam table paper fluttered to the floor.

So, yes, we’re trying.  And hopefully by the time you see this, I’ll be pregnant.  But we have two weeks to wait to find out.  So don’t congratulate me yet.  (Or as I wanted to say to a friend when I was trying to get pregnant before, don’t mazel my tov yet.)  But good vibes, thoughts, prayers, whatever floats your boat, are always appreciated.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

