Still UTI-Free

May 28, 2014

I was all prepared to get home today and write all about my first UTI.

I know.  I know.  You’ve been expecting a post about getting my drugs ordered.  But I’ve been sick.  I’ve been running a low-grade fever for the past five days.  You know the kind.  Just enough to make you feel blah.  And that’s how I feel.  Blah.  I can breathe just fine.  My sinuses are clear.  I just don’t feel good.

So yesterday morning, I called the GP.  And I was told there were no appointments but that the nurse needed to talk to me.  I got the nurses’ station voicemail.  In my message, I said that I’ve had a low-grade fever since Saturday.  The nurse told the receptionist to make an appointment.  (Yes, I never actually spoke with the nurse.)  I saw the NP today.  She agreed that I’m running a fever.  She agreed that we should rule out a UTI first.  And she’s so sweet.  After checking my urine, she came back into the exam room and said, “Well the good news is that it’s not a UTI!”

That’s not good news!  A UTI is easy.  Not fun, but fixable.  Knowable.  Not a UTI means…  Well, it’s something else.  But she’s not sure what.  So now I wait for my labs to come back.  All the while feeling slightly feverish and altogether blah.

And now that I’ve put you through that…

When I called the pharmacy on Friday, they’d received the hcG prescription but not the FSH.  Yes, the reverse of what happened last cycle.  I called the nurse and she insisted that she’d submitted both of them.  And then she checked the EMR and saw that, oops, she’d forgotten to indicate what pharmacy the FSH prescription was supposed to go to.  It took multiple phone calls, but I was able to get everything delivered on Saturday.  I needed it no later than Tuesday, and since Monday was a holiday, they couldn’t get it to me on Tuesday.

And Nicki gave me the first FSH injection today.  I know.  Is it wise to continue this cycle if I’m sick.  I’m hopeful that this will be resolved by next week.  Either they’ll figure out what’s wrong and how to treat it, or the fever will complete its mission of killing whatever pathogen has caused it.  And then, hopefully, I’ll get pregnant.  And start a new set of worries.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

