Or I Was Wrong

June 19, 2014

I really thought my period was starting. I really did. It really looked like the way my period starts.

But then…

It stopped.

And it stayed stopped.

But my period was supposed to start today. So I tried to be strong. I told myself to wait until after work today. Wait to make sure it doesn’t start.

But I couldn’t stand it anymore. At around 11 this morning, I ran home and peed on a stick. It was a three-minute test. The second line showed up after only about a minute.

I am shaking. I took a picture and texted it to my parents and to Nicki. (All of them had, of course, been told yesterday that my period had started.)

And then I called the clinic. And the same nurse I spoke to yesterday answered. I told her what had happened.

She cheered and then said, “I thought that was what was going on!” She had been unconvinced by my description of my period starting. She hadn’t thought it really sounded like that’s what was going on.

So my ultrasound and consult for tomorrow have been canceled and replaced with a blood draw. I’ll have a second one on Monday. And then we’ll go from there.

Goal #1: Get pregnant. Accomplished.
Goal #2: Stay pregnant. In progress.

3 thoughts on “Or I Was Wrong

Leave a comment