A Day Late

August 9, 2014

I’m a day late writing my post on this week’s happy things.  That’s because I had to go to Traverse City for work.  And the conference group rate was only available the night before the conference.  And it’s summer.  There was no way I could afford a second night at a hotel on a Friday night in a major summer tourist town.  It was late enough by the time I got home that there was no way my brain could handle writing any sort of post, even a list of happy things.  So you’re getting it a day late, but hopefully not a dollar short.

  1. Waze is making me happy.  For those of you who aren’t familiar, this is a crowd-sourced GPS app.  It asks users to report accidents, construction, congestion, you name it, and it uses that data to help everyone find the fastest route to wherever they’re going.  Obviously, the more people who use it, the better it functions.  There may not have been a lot of Wazers Up North, but that didn’t really matter.  It got my mom and I to the hotel with great ease and back on 131 Friday afternoon.
  2. Road construction.  I hear you, I do.  We saw a lot of construction signs driving back, all preceded by signs saying that construction would resume on August 11.  Darn.  It’s a long drive, but it made me smile every time I saw one of those signs and then blew right through the construction zone at 70 mph.
  3. Being in Traverse City.  Sure, I was there for work and didn’t get to spend a lot of time out and about, but the evening before the conference was beautiful.  And I’m a Michigan girl, so it was lovely to be so close to the Lake.
  4. The conference let out early.  How can that not make a girl happy?  Sure, it would have been even nicer if I’d been driving home this morning, but having an extra 30 minutes?  Fabulous.  My mom and I thought we’d get home no earlier than 7.  We got to her house by 6:30, and I was walking into my apartment at 7.
  5. My mom and I did a gelato crawl for dinner Thursday night.  (Okay, so it consisted of two scoops at two different shops…  But it was pre second dose of Unisom, so I wasn’t very hungry yet and I had a rice cake and peanut butter and a peach a few hours later after the drugs kicked in…)  If you are ever in Traverse City, I highly recommend that you go to Ambrosia for gelato.  There are a lot of places in this country that claim to sell gelato.  They don’t.  They sell very good ice cream.  Gelato should be made fresh each day.  Storing it overnight means it starts to crystallize, and the texture is wrong.  Sure, it’s still really good ice cream, but it isn’t gelato.  Ambrosia makes gelato.  It was as good as I’ve had in Italy.
  6. And since every week needs some absolute whimsy, please enjoy these corgi puppies playing at Georgia Tech.  Sure the beginning is rather twee, but take the still at the end of the article as incentive to watch till the end.  It is adorably worth it.  Thanks, Rams, for finding this!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

