Made it to Friday!

September 26, 2014

I don’t know what it is about this September.  The weeks have seemed interminable, and yet I’m still trying to figure out where the month has gone.  How is it almost October?

I am definitely glad that it’s Friday.

  1. I’ve cast on a pair of fingerless mitts for Sheri, and I’m having great fun working on them.  The pair she needs to replace are striped in random colors, so I’m using leftover sock yarn and a random number generator to tell me how many rounds of each ball I should knit.  (At which point, said ball is passed along to my mom to be knit into baby socks for military baby showers.  I have short feet; I usually have a lot of yarn left when I finish a pair of socks.)
  2. I can count the number of days until my CCMEP exam on one hand.  And while, yes, this is stressful because it’s bloody expensive so I really have to pass on the first try, I’m really looking forward to getting it over and done with.
  3. I finally found what a passing score is for the CCMEP exam.  I need to get at least a 600.  Possible scores range from 200 to 1000.  I think I’m going to be okay.
  4. Today was the last time I need to drive to East Lansing for a DD Conference planning meeting.  I really will miss the people, but I won’t miss the travel.
  5. Linda Holmes has done it again, this time with a study of the YA fiction that is the music of the Shangri-las.
  6. I love it when Kathy Gunst is on Here & Now.  I was especially geeked when she came on this week to talk about winter squash.  I love winter squash.  And she had some lovely sounding recipes to share.  It did, however, take a bit of a turn when she started describing butternut squash.  Sure, you could just read the page I’ve linked to, but you’ll enjoy it much more if you listen to the interview.
  7. And finally, saw this on Facebook, and the ballet dancer in me loved it.  Not only are they good dancers with good technique, but they have an excellent sense of humor.  Enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

