Random Friday Happiness

October 3, 2014

  1. I think the first thing that’s making me happy this week is pretty obvious.  I’m officially a CCMEP!  I don’t have to take that exam ever again.  I just have to make sure to meet the maintenance requirements.  And I’ve already downloaded and saved the spreadsheet they use so that I can easily keep track of my points.
  2. The nerdy dancer in me particularly enjoyed hearing about this week’s Science Friday Video Pick of the Week.  A choreographer had been artist-in-residence at CERN.  Who knew?  He talks about creating dance that was inspired by quantum physics.
  3. Issa and I are have a bit of a girls’ night tonight.  In the way theatre geeks have girls’ night.  We’re going to see My Fair Lady at the Civic.  It’s my birthday present from her, which is incredibly sweet (even though I know this also gives her the excuse to have a night out, too).  Everything I’ve heard thus far is that it’s a good production.  Plus I know about half the cast, so it will be fun to see people I haven’t seen in, well, a year.  Some even longer than that.
  4. Every year, the New York Philharmonic does a semi-staged Broadway musical.  This year was Sweeney Todd.  Starring Bryn Terfel.  And Emma Thompson.  Do you need me to go on?  Okay.  And Audra McDonald.  The video doesn’t expire for a couple of years, so you have plenty of time to enjoy.  Again.  And again.  And again.  I watched it on Saturday.  I’d spent the morning running errands, got home at lunch time, settled in with lunch and the show.  I watched the opening number holding the fork halfway between the plate and my mouth.  Yes, I’ll be watching it again.  And again.  And again.  Brilliant show.  Brilliant production.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

