What’s Making Me Happy This Week

October 10, 2014

What a week!  Somehow Courtney and I didn’t notice that IT had moved off our floor.  That’s really only relevant because it meant that construction has begun on our floor.  Said construction includes the office immediately next to mine.  The drilling, oh the drilling!

But I digress.

  1. I was walking back from the bathroom, and Connie came up behind me.  She shook her head and said, “We need to get that baby to dance a jig so that it will get off your sciatic!”
  2. Someone made a machine gun that assembles and shoots paper airplanes.  Really.  Thanks for the tip, Marketplace Tech!
  3. Because… why not?  One of the topics on Science Friday today was the evolution of the violin.  As in comparing it to biological evolution.  Because science?  It really was interesting.  Thought of my friends Sheri and Betsy when they got briefly sidetracked by a discussion of the viola.
  4. The crew over at Pop Culture Happy Hour told me that Terry Crews is now one of the voices available on Waze.  If you don’t already use this GPS app, I highly recommend it.  And now it comes with Terry Crews!  I let him give me directions home from work.  He gets super excited.  Which is one of the reasons we love him.
  5. Oh, yeah, and then there was yesterday.  When I had my ultrasound.  I think I forgot to mention that.  Everything looks good.  Lori saw nothing on the report that was concerning.  (I’m trying to convince myself that 54th percentile is a good thing.  Yes, I know that it is.  No, the irrational half of my brain does not believe that.)  It was a relief to see it with its hand over its face.  Just like its sister.
  6. And one final thing that’s that different kind of making me happy.  Not funny or even cheery, but oh so relevant.  Honestly, if this had been posted on WordPress, I would have reblogged it.  In real time.  It’s a wonderful post called How to Help a Grieving Friend: 11 Things to Do When You’re Not Sure What to Do.  Read this.  Save this.  Share this.  Keep it handy to give to your friends when you’ve lost a parent or sibling or significant other or <pfft pfft pfft> child.  Take numbers 6 & 7 to heart.  I can’t tell you how many people said “let me know if there’s anything I can do.”  I know they meant it.  At least I’m pretty sure they did.  I still can’t tell you what I could have asked them to do.  But if they’d said, “I’m going to clean out your fridge every Friday.”  Or “I’m going to check your mail every day.”  (Okay, my mom wound up doing that, but you get the idea.)  This post is just so well written.  The next time you need to comfort a friend, the next time a friend needs to comfort you, go back to this post.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

