Happy at 24 Weeks

November 7, 2014

  1. Even though I’m not thrilled with the results… or the turnout (12% of voters under the age of 30? Come on, people!), I’m definitely glad that we’re past election day.
  2. I’m happy that my OB appointment went so well.
  3. I’m happy that the way Cheryl from HR chose to ask if I was pregnant was by asking if I was going to be needing another leave of absence.  And she waited until she knew there was no one else around, just in case she was wrong.
  4. Frankly, it’s been a good week for NPR.  It’s the 35th anniversary of Morning Edition, so they’ve had several fun reports looking back at their history.  I highly recommend the history of the theme song and the discussion of bloopers.
  5. On my way from the polls to work, I got to listen to this charming interview with Benedict Cumberbatch.  (Need I say more?)
  6. And then there was the day that Diane Rehm had Peter Yarrow and Noel Paul Stookey on.  And it both made me happy and made me cry.  Nothing like a little folk music with a hefty dose of nostalgia!
  7. I don’t know about you, but I’ve been waiting for the true story of how This American Life is made to finally be revealed.  It’s nice to know that The Onion can deliver such important muck-raking reports.  😉
  8. And, finally, during a press conference this week, the President compared his term to a basketball game.  And that got me to thinking.  You know, basketball and politics just doesn’t have the same ring to it as politics and poker.  Which, of course, got me to singing.  Fiorello! is probably my favorite musical.  (I know.  It’s so hard to pick just one.  But I regularly go back to it and fall in love all over again.)  And that, of course, sent me to YouTube.  I couldn’t find a very strong performance of Politics & Poker, so you’ll just have to listen to the original cast album.  But I did find this great performance of one of my other favorite numbers (okay, I love them all…).  Enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

