I’m Not Really a Jew, But I Play One on TV.

December 15, 2014

And now that I’ve offended my Jewish friends…  (Not really.  I can’t think of any of my Jewish friends who don’t have a great sense of humor.  We wouldn’t be friends otherwise.)  Let me explain.  Back in college, I was in The Diary of Anne Frank.  You may recall that I went to Loyola.  And Loyola is a Catholic school.  There was nary a Jew in that cast.  And so our joke became the title of this post.

My mom and I went to Ann Arbor to have brunch with Jess and Patty yesterday.  Just like Esther, Jess’s grandma/Patty’s mom, was my Jewish grandmother, Patty is well on her way to being my kids’ Jewish grandmother.  I don’t think she minds.  I think we all benefit from having a bubbe.

I bring this up not only because we had a wonderful time.  I mean, there aren’t a lot of mother/daughter pairs that my mom and I are both friends with who have the same sort of relationship that my mom and I have.  Jess and Patty are our kindred spirits.  And it was nice not only to catch up, but to just hang and talk about everything and nothing.

But I bring this up because while Jess and I were off picking up her son from Hebrew school, one of the things my mom told Patty was that about a week before my C-section, we’d change the sheets in the crib.  Patty told her I was being very Jewish, and she approved.  You see, customarily, Jews don’t do much before the baby comes.  This was something Nicki and I had learned back when we did Fiddler on the Roof at the Civic.  And it’s something she and I have said:  I’m being very Jewish about this pregnancy.  But it was really nice to have that be reinforced by someone who is actually Jewish.  I’m not being weird by insisting that people wait until I have this baby to give gifts.  I’m merely following a different tradition in regards to pregnancy.  I’m not really Jewish, but this is a tradition that definitely works for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

