My Mechanic & Me

March 10, 2015

My car went in for its 60,000 mile maintenance yesterday.  That’s right.  My 10-year-old car has finally reached 60k.  <sigh> I remember those days that I lived close enought to work that I could walk…

Anyway…

When I went to pick up my car, I had the following conversation with my mechanic.

Gary:  I love your bumper sticker.

Me:  Thanks.

Gary:  You know, back when I was an altar boy, they wouldn’t even let girls do that.

Me:  When I taught at St A’s, we had both altar boys and altar girls, but they weren’t allowed to serve at the same time.  It was either all boys or all girls.  (I left out the difference in what they wore…)

Gary (rolls his eyes):  It’s time for an American Catholic Church.

‘Cause, you know, this is a normal sort of conversation to have with one’s mechanic…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

